Calendar

Three institutions are rethought by artists and people outside the art sector in a series of public events that reconfigure the institutions that host them. The first to Experience an Institutional Transformation will be Idensitat in Barcelona (Spain) in September 2020, then Minitremu in Targu-Mures (Romania) in November 2020 and finally the Bottari Lattes Foundation in Turin (Italy) in January 2021. ETI’s objective is to analyze the transformations that these programs will or will not have produced on the institution. The entire project will be presented at a forum in Paris in September 2021.

Phases

The ETI process is divided into nine phases:

1. Gathering of all partners to define the lines of experimentation specific to each of the partner institutions.

2. Each specificity leads to a choice of artists and their external non-art partners with whom the institution will collaborate. The three of them together make up the consortium.

3. During a residency, each council develops programming guidelines according to the nature of the artist’s practice and their external partners. The articulation of the art institution with the external actors emerges from this.

4. The board develops a pilot program in relation to the project’s experimental drivers and the specific application to the institution.

5. As this program is drawn up, monitoring is organized between the host institution, the selected artist and the leader. They focus respectively on the relationship of the institution with the artist and his or her practice, the integration of the artist in the decision-making functions of the institution, and the respect of the conditions of the experimentation.

6. The host institution and the selected artist present the developed programming to the lead team. If certain adjustments are desired, the exchange concludes with the confirmation of a program between the host institution and the selected artist.

7. The programming is carried out within the host institution and the selected artist in the presence of all the partner institutions. The implementation of the programming is part of an analysis of the effects on the institution in question and the changes in the relationship between the host institution and its audience. This collaborative work takes into account the specificities of each of the partners involved.

8. Writing a report on the programming.

9. The last stage aims to identify an effective or ineffective institutional change. If the experience is conclusive, the second institution will have to take over the transformation carried out on its behalf.

Programme

Trois institutions sont repensées par des artistes et des personnes hors du secteur de l’art lors de séries d’événements publiques permettant de reconfigurer les institutions qui les accueillent. La première à Expérimenter une Transformation Institutionnelle sera Idensitat à Barcelone (Espagne) en septembre 2020, puis Minitremu à Targu-Mures (Roumanie) en novembre 2020 et enfin la Fondation Bottari Lattes de Turin (Italie) en janvier 2021. L’objectif d’ETI est d’analyser des transformations que ces programmations auront produites ou non sur l’institution. L’ensemble du projet fera l’objet d’une restitution lors d’un forum à Paris en septembre 2021.

Les phases

Le déroulement d’ETI se divise en neuf phases :

1. Rassemblement de tous les partenaires en vue de définir les lignes d’expérimentations spécifiques à chacune des institutions partenaires.

2. Chaque spécificité amène à un choix d’artistes et de leurs partenaires extérieurs hors art, avec lesquels l’institution collaborera. Ils composent à eux trois le consortium.

3. Lors d’une résidence chaque conseil élabore des pistes pour la programmation en fonction de la nature de la pratique de l’artiste et de son partenaires extérieur. Il en émerge l’articulation de l’institution d’art avec les acteurs extérieurs.

4. Le conseil élabore une programmation-pilote en rapport avec les leviers d’expérimentations du projet et la thématique spécifique d’application propre à l’institution.

5. En parallèle de l’élaboration de cette programmation, un suivi est organisé entre l’institution hôte, l’artiste sélectionné et le chef de file. Ils se concentrent respectivement sur la relation de l’institution avec l’artiste et sa pratique, l’intégration de l’artiste aux fonctions décisionnelles de l’institution, le respect des conditions de l’expérimentation.

6. L’institution hôte et l’artiste sélectionné présentent à l’équipe du chef de file la programmation élaborée. Si certains ajustements sont souhaitables, l’échange se conclut par la validation d’une programmation entre l’institution hôte et l’artiste sélectionné.

7. Réalisation de la programmation au sein de l’institution hôte et de l’artiste sélectionné.e en présence de l’ensemble des institutions partenaires. La mise en oeuvre de la programmation s’inscrit dans une analyse des effets sur l’institution en question et des transformations du rapport de l’institution hôte avec son audience. Ce travail collaboratif reprend les spécificités de chacun des partenaires engagés.

8. Rédaction d’un compte-rendu de la programmation.

9. La dernière étape vise à repérer un changement institutionnel effectif ou non. Si l’expérience est concluante il s’agira pour la seconde institution de reprendre la transformation opérée pour son compte.